The beginning–an off-the-shelf rolling chassis

To see this quadricyle in more detail, go to this address:

http://www.utahtrikes.com/RECENTTRIKE-Jorys_Extended_Quad.html

After the long slog of building Moonbeam,  my 100 MPG microcar ,   where I had to create from scratch the front end geometry, the seating, and a thousand other basic details; I knew that this time I wanted to buy an off-the shelf “rolling chassis” to begin the Sunbeam project. For a few weeks I dithered about using two side-by-side mountain bikes with new cross framing, but I soon felt the project was getting bogged down with engineering I just wanted to avoid. So I looked around and found that a company called Utah Trikes had converted a Terratrike recumbant trike into a quadricycle and I soon swallowed my pride, opened my checkbook and bought one. Get the extended chassis, for the electric components; the additional rear brakes, since this baby will go from 55 pounds to 105 pounds; the ‘big apple’ tires, and the pedals with straps This chassis would give me a great headstart and allow the project to fit into my 5 month time frame.

Leave a Reply

